SETP Online Store

The SETP online store will close for the holidays starting 14 December 2022. Please make all purchases by 12 December to ensure shipping before 14 December. The store will reopen 3 January 2023.

Thank you!

Walter W. Hollis Award for Lifetime Achievement in Test & Evaluation to Honorable Bob Behler (F)

Mike Rabens (F), Chair of the NDIA Industrial Committee on Test and Evaluation, and Jeff Bilco, NDIA T&E Division Chair, presented the Walter W. Hollis Award for lifetime achievement in Test and Evaluation to the Honorable Bob Behler (F) on 1 November at the NDIA Systems and Mission Engineering Conference. Bob entered the Air Force in 1972, attended USAF Test Pilot School, flew the SR-71 and 65 other types of aircraft, commanded the 31st Test and Evaluation Squadron, the 9th Operations Group, and the 9th Reconnaissance Wing before serving in many Pentagon roles, retiring as a Major General. Afterwards he became one of the leading voices for Software and Cyber Test and Evaluation at Johns Hopkins University Applies Physics Lab, MITRE Corporation, SRC, Inc., and finally as COO and Deputy Director of Carnegie Mellon University Software Engineering Institute before being appointed by the president as Director, Operational Test & Evaluation for the Dept of Defense, a position he held for 3 years. He was one of only two test pilots and SETP members to serve as Director of Operational Test and Evaluation, the other being Honorable Jack Krings (F).  As you can see in the picture, Bob is very much alive and well, and says he intends to continue to support our nation's Defense. His test philosophy can be summed up as "Veritas - seek the truth". Asked why we test, his response: "We test to minimize the maximum regret". A most worthy individual for this award, which is presented by NDIA in the name of Walter W. Hollis to honor his dedicated and long-standing service in the field of Test & Evaluation. In 1980, Walt was appointed as the Deputy Under Secretary of the Army for Operations Research. In this position, he proudly served the Army and this country, leading the Army T&E and analysis communities for 26 years until his retirement in 2006, but his reach was well beyond the Army. In fact, he was affectionately known as the grandfather of T&E. 

Bob Behler WWW

ITPS Canada Goes 100% Carbon Neutral with Partnership of LivClean

First Test Pilot School to Achieve Carbon Neutrality


London, Ontario- ( November 19, 2022) - ITPS Canada is proud to announce a pledge to be 100% carbon neutral for 2022 and beyond

To help achieve the company's environmental goals, ITPS (International Test Pilots School) has partnered with LivClean, a top-ranked carbon offset retailer. Through the partnership, ITPS's carbon offset purchase will support the Great Bear Forest Carbon Project, located inside the traditional territories of the Haida Nation, British Columbia, Canada, and home to the largest remaining intact coastal temperate rainforest in the world.

"It's time for us all to take responsibility. Our partnership with LivClean and the Great Bear projects means ITPS Canada's carbon emissions from flying will be completely offset, making us the first test pilot school in North America to be 100% carbon neutral," says Giorgio Clementi, President of ITPS Canada. "This demonstrates ITPS is committed to climate action in aviation."

Read more: ITPS Canada Goes 100% Carbon Neutral with Partnership of LivClean

66th Annual S&B Award Winners and 2022 Fellow Class

The Society of Experimental Test Pilots is proud to announce the
Award Winners from the 66th Annual Symposium & Banquet and the 2022 Fellow Class
Susan Edit Correct SETP Logo Transparent
Herman R. Salmon Technical Publications Award
(Sponsored by Symbolic Displays)

For the Best Technical Paper published in Cockpit during the Past Year


“On-Board Oxygen Generation System (OBOGS) Flight Test How NOT to Conduct a Campaign”

James E. “JB” Brown, III (F), National Test Pilot School

SETP 21 Saturday 0275

Read more: 66th Annual S&B Award Winners and 2022 Fellow Class

Billie Flynn (F) Appointed Vice President Technology & Strategic Development, ITPS

ITPS is pleased to announce that Billie Flynn has been appointed Vice President Technology & Strategic Development. Since joining us over a year ago Billie has made excellent contributions to our projects, curricula and instruction.

As a 5th Gen Fighter Subject Matter Expert he is providing essential advice and guidance on the development and services at the International Test Pilots School and the International Tactical Training Centre (ITTC). His experience flying the world's most advanced 5th Gen fighter is being leveraged to develop a 5th Gen Technology Roadmap to ensure that the ITPS/ITTC 5th Gen platform and curriculum prepare fighter pilots and test pilot students for advanced fighter aircraft.
Billie will support the development, testing, and introduction to service of the ITPS 5th Generation Surrogate Training Aircraft (5STA) and Advanced Controls Evaluator L-39 (FBW, VSS aircraft) and fulfil a business development role leading key initiatives for the test pilot school. He will continue to provide insight and mentorship to students on modern combat aircraft flight testing and flight test safety.

On the tactical side, Billie will advise on technology and curriculum development for the International Tactical Training Centre (ITTC) programmes, delivered domestically and worldwide, to reflect the necessary advancements to properly equip today's fighter pilot trainees for tomorrow's service fighter aircraft.
Billie is a former Royal Canadian Air Force fighter pilot and test pilot. Billie's over thirty-year flight test career includes stints at Edwards AFB testing fighter aircraft, DASA (now Airbus, Manching) testing Eurofighter and at Lockheed Martin testing the F-35. He retired from Lockheed Martin as Senior F-35 Test Pilot and Fellow after a long and stellar career evaluating all variants of the F-35 and extensive F-16 testing. Billie is a Fellow and Past President of the Society of Experimental Test Pilots.
When asked about his new role at ITPS, Billie commented, "I am excited to support ITPS as it grows and leverages technology advancements to provide world-class instruction for future test pilots and flight test engineers. The future looks very bright indeed for ITPS."