The Society of Experimental Test Pilots is proud to announce the
Award Winners from the 66th Annual Symposium & Banquet and the 2022 Fellow Class
Susan Edit Correct SETP Logo Transparent
Herman R. Salmon Technical Publications Award
(Sponsored by Symbolic Displays)

For the Best Technical Paper published in Cockpit during the Past Year


“On-Board Oxygen Generation System (OBOGS) Flight Test How NOT to Conduct a Campaign”

James E. “JB” Brown, III (F), National Test Pilot School

SETP 21 Saturday 0275



Ray E. Tenhoff Award

(Sponsored by Aerospace Services International)

For the Most Outstanding Paper Presented at the SETP Symposium

“Mitigating Degraded Visual Environment Landings Through Improved Displays”

Maj Aaron Okun, USMC (M)

Robert Vitagliano, NAVAIR

Okun Aaron 


η Eta Award

(Sponsored by Lockheed Martin)

For the Paper Which Best Exhibits Advancements in Flight Testing Efficiency and Effectiveness Presented at the SETP Symposium

“Demonstrating a Framework for Measuring Trust in Tactical Autonomy”

Joseph Brown, Dept. of the Air Force

 Brown Joseph


Javier Arango Memorial Award
(Sponsored by Safe Flight Instrument Corporation)
For the Paper Which Best Reflects Historical Aircraft and Human Machine Interface 

“Failure is Always an Option”
Art Tomassetti (F),  Time2Climb Training & Consulting

SETP 22 Awards 20220924 060


Tony LeVier Flight Test Safety Award

(Sponsored by Gentex Corporation)

Giorgio Clementi (AF), International Test Pilots School

SETP 21 Saturday 0291


J. H. Doolittle Award

(Sponsored by The Boeing Company)
For Excellence in the Technical Management or Engineering Aspects of Aerospace Technology

Robert Cabana (F), NASA

SETP 21 Saturday 0324


Iven C. Kincheloe Award

(Sponsored by Lockheed Martin)
In Recognition of Outstanding Professional Accomplishment in the Conduct of Flight Testing During the Past Year

Benjamin Williamson (AF), Sikorsky, A Lockheed Martin Company
S-70 OPV Project

SETP 21 Saturday 0330



2022 Fellows
Bruce Barrett
Kevin Campbell
Peter Kosogorin
Kelly Latimer
Daniel Levin
Pamela Melroy
Eduardo Menini
Bruce Remick
Steven Roberts
Brian Sandberg
Kenneth Sasine
Markus Scherdel
Guy Thiel

Fellows 2021


 Shaking of the Stick 

Brian Sandberg (F), Lockheed Martin
SETP President 2022/2023

SETP 21 Saturday 0340