The Society of Experimental Test Pilots is proud to announce the
Award Winners from the 65th Annual Symposium & Banquet and the 2020 / 2021 Fellow Class
Herman R. Salmon Technical Publications Award
(Sponsored by Symbolic Displays)

For the Best Technical Paper published in Cockpit during the Past Year

Bionics In Aviation – The Geranos Winggrid Project

Robert Hierl (F)

SETP 21 Saturday 0275


Ray E. Tenhoff Award

(Sponsored by Aerospace Services International)

For the Most Outstanding Paper Presented at the SETP Symposium


“Combining Two Worlds of Flight ‐ Rocket Meet Airplane, Airplane Meet Rocket”

Kelly Latimer (AF), Virgin Galactic
Todd Ericson (F), Virgin Orbit
Zack Rubin, Virgin Orbit
Bryce Schaefer, Virgin Orbit

SETP 21 Saturday 0288 


η Eta Award

(Sponsored by Lockheed Martin)

For the Paper Which Best Exhibits Advancements in Flight Testing Efficiency and Effectiveness Presented at the SETP Symposium


“Risk Management of a Complex eVTOL Airplane in Agile Development”

James Denham (M), Joby Aviation
Zachary Reeder (M), Joby Aviation

SETP 21 Saturday 0281


Javier Arango Memorial Award
(Sponsored by Safe Flight Instrument Corporation)

For the Paper Which Best Reflects Historical Aircraft and Human Machine Interface


“Preventing Flight Physiological Episodes Through Integrated Biomonitoring Systems”

Maj Kevin Hand, USAF (PAM)
Dr. Brian Bradke, Spotlight Labs


Tony LeVier Flight Test Safety Award

(Sponsored by Gentex Corporation)

Ben Luther, Nova Systems
Award accepted by Tom Huff (F), Gulfstream

SETP 21 Saturday 0291


J. H. Doolittle Award

(Sponsored by The Boeing Company)
For Excellence in the Technical Management or Engineering Aspects of Aerospace Technology

Bruce D. Remick (AF), Federal Aviation Administration (Ret)

SETP 21 Saturday 0324


Iven C. Kincheloe Award

(Sponsored by Lockheed Martin)
In Recognition of Outstanding Professional Accomplishment in the Conduct of Flight Testing During the Past Year

Donald B. Grove (M), Bell Textron
V-280 Demonstrator Program

SETP 21 Saturday 0330




2020 Fellows
Eugene Arnold
Karol Bobko
Rodrigo Huete
Lee Johnson
Magnus Ljungdahl
Gordon McClymont
Justin Paines
David Palmer
James Payne
Didier Poisson
Robert Price
Les Ryan
Jeffrey Trang

 Fellows 2020


2021 Fellows
Stephen Barter
Thomas Carr
David Culbertson
Thomas Huff
James Manly
Yoshiteru Miwa
Thomas Porteous
Dieter Schweizer
Steve Stowe
Sergey Tresviatsky
Richard Truly

Fellows 2021


 Shaking of the Stick 

David Nils Larson (F), NASA
SETP President 2021/2022

SETP 21 Saturday 0340