The Society of Experimental Test Pilots is proud to announce the
Award Winners from the 62nd Annual Symposium & Banquet and the 2018 Fellow Class
Herman R. Salmon Technical Publications Award
(Sponsored by Symbolic Displays)

For the Best Technical Paper published in

Cockpit during the Past Year

“MiG-21 and MiG-23 Qualitative Evaluations”

James "JB" Brown, III (F)
National Test Pilot School

SETP 2018 Banquet 092918 162


Friend of the Society Recognition

Jan and Bruce Schell

SETP 2018 Banquet 092918 161


Ray E. Tenhoff Award

(Sponsored by Aerospace Services International)

For the Most Outstanding Paper Presented

at the SETP Symposium

New Frameworks for Risk Management in Flight Test

Col Douglas Wickert, USAF (AF)

SETP 2018 Banquet 092918 165


η Eta Award

(Sponsored by Lockheed Martin)

For the Paper Which Best Exhibits Advancements

in Flight Testing Efficiency and Effectiveness Presented

at the SETP Symposium

“Characterizing Hover Performance Over Sloped Terrain”

John Holder (AF), KBRwyle
John Tritschler, USNTPS


Tony LeVier Flight Test Safety Award

(Sponsored by Gentex Corporation)

Terrance Pearce (AM), Bombardier Aerospace

SETP 2018 Banquet 092918 167


J. H. Doolittle Award

(Sponsored by The Boeing Company)

For Excellence in the Technical Management or Engineering Aspects of Aerospace Technology

Mike Carriker (F), The Boeing Company

SETP 2018 Banquet 092918 203


Iven C. Kincheloe Award

(Sponsored by Lockheed Martin)
In Recognition of Outstanding Professional Accomplishment in the Conduct of Flight Testing During the Past Year

James M. Payne (AF), Perlan Project
Airbus Perlan Project

SETP 2018 Banquet 092918 211


2018 Fellows


Kevin Bredenbeck

Michael Bryan

Charles Ellis

Thomas Horne

Norman Howell

David Nils Larson

Ignacio Lombo

Allen Peterson

Michael Preston

Daniel Wells

 2018 Fellows



Shaking of the Stick

Maurice Girard (F), Bombardier Aerospace
SETP President 2018/2019

SETP 2018 Banquet 092918 217