FRIDAY, 5 APRIL 2019

0800 Registration

0830-0840

Opening Remarks - Symposium Chairman:

CDR Daniel Radocaj, USN (M)

SESSION I CHAIRMAN:

CDR Paul Meyer, USN (M)

0840-0910

"F-35 Climatic Chamber Testing and System Verification"

Billie Flynn (F), Lockheed Martin Victorio Rodriguez, Lockheed Martin

0915-0945

"T-45 Goshawk Airstart Envelope Verification and Expansion: How To Turn A Carrier Jet Trainer Into A Glider"

LT Jonathan Larsen, USN

0950-1020

"Engineering Judgment Tradecraft: Strategies For Transcending The Limits Of Uncertainty From Human Agency" Lt Col Dan Javorsek, II, USAF, PhD (M)

1020-1035 - **Break**

1035-1105

"NASA AFRC ARM Project"

Tim Williams (M), NASA Troy Asher (M), NASA

1110-1140

"Blue Angels A-4 Aircraft Modification Testing"

CAPT Ken MacGillivray, USN (Ret) (AF)

1145-1155

"Flight Test Safety Committee Update"
Tom Huff (AF), Gulfstream/FTSC Chairman

SETP LUNCHEON: 1200-1300

Kenneth Cameron (M), NASA Astronaut (Ret)

SESSION II CHAIRMAN:

John O'Connor (AF), USN Test Pilot School

1300-1330

"Shooting For Success: EA-18G AIM-9X Weapon Separation Testing" LCDR Mike Mabrey, USN (PAM)

1335-1405

F-35B Flight Trials With HMS Queen Elizabeth (First of Class)"

Peter Wilson (AF), BAE Systems Sqn Ldr Andrew Edgell, RAF (M) CDR Nathan Gray, RN (M) Maj Michael Lippert, USMC (M)

1410-1425 - **Break**

1425-1455

"F-35 Magic Tanking: When Flight Test Results Differ Significantly From The Simulator" LCDR William Bowen, USN (M)

1455-1525

"As Advertised? Evaluating Updates To A Legacy Baron"

MIDN Susan Johnson MIDN Benjamin Hogin

1525-1540

"SETP President's State of the Society" Maurice Girard (F), Bombardier Aerospace

1540-1545

Leroy Grumman Award

Presented by Eric Webster, Chief WSO Will Wolford, Chief FTE Northrop Grumman 1545-1600

Closing Remarks
Symposium Chairman:

CDR Daniel Radocaj, USN (M)

1600-1700

Reception at BDVFD Social Hall

The SETP East Coast Section and The USNTPS Alumni Association would like to thank the following companies for their sponsorship



















CORPORATE MEMBERS

Aerospace Services International LLC AeroTEC, LLC Air Force Test Pilot School (India) Airborne Systems Group Airbus Defence and Space GmbH Airbus SAS Aviation Partners, Inc. Bechtel National, Inc. Bell Branson Airport, LLC Butler Parachute Systems, Inc. Calspan Corporation Cruz Associates, Inc. CubCrafters, Inc. David Clark Company Incorporated DCS Corporation Denmar Technical Services Draken International **ETPS** eXAQT Consultant Group ForeFeathers Enterprises Gauntlet Aerospace GE Aviation General Atomics Aeronautical Systems, Inc. Gentex Corporation
Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation
Hindustan Aeronautics LTD
Honda Aircraft Company Honeywell Aerospace Flight Test Operations
Innovative Solutions & Support
International Test Pilot School Canada Ltd.
IPEV - Flight Test and Research Institute
IT4, LLC KBRwyle Kitty Hawk Corporation
Leonardo S.p.A.
Lockheed Martin Corporation
Marinvent Corporation Martin-Baker Aircraft Company Ltd. MIT Lincoln Laboratory Modern Technology Solutions, Inc.
Mojave Air and Space Port
National Test Pilot School
Netherlands Aerospace Center NLR
Northrop Grumman Corporation
Piper Aircraft, Inc. Saab Aeronautics Safe Flight Instrument Corporation Sage Cheshire, Inc. Scaled Composites, LLC
Sunshine Aero Industries, Inc.
Swedish Defence Material Administration T&E Directorate Symbolic Displays, Incorporated
Test Flying Academy of South Africa (TFASA)
Textron Aviation
Thales VISIONIX, Inc. The Boeing Company
The Johns Hopkins Univ. Applied Physics Laboratory
The Spaceship Company, LLC
Thornton Corporation
Tiger Century Aircraft, Inc. Virgin Galactic, LLC

THE SOCIETY OF EXPERIMENTAL TEST PILOTS BOARD OF DIRECTORS

President - Maurice Girard, Bombardier Aerospace

Vice President - Justin Paines, Joby Aviation

Secretary - Jennifer Henderson, The Boeing Company

Treasurer - William Koyama, Lockheed Martin

Legal Officer - CAPT Andrew McFarland, USN

Executive Advisor - Art Tomassetti, Lockheed Martin

President-Elect - William Gray, USAF Test Pilot School

Technical Advisor - Terry Lutz, TLZ Aerospace

Technical Advisor - Stuart Rogerson, Textron Aviation

Canadian Section Representative - Perry Comeau, Nt'l. Res. Council Canada

Central Section Representative - Brett Pierson, Textron Aviation

East Coast Section Representative - Steve Wright, KBRnyle

European Section Representative - Jeremy Tracy

Great Lakes Section Representative - Edward Conant, Mercury Systems

Northwest Section Representative - Kerry Smith, The Boeing Company

Southeast Section Representative - Maj Michael Jordon, RCAF

Southwest Section Representative - Tom Currie, Bell

West Coast Section Representative - Jameel Janjua, Calspan

East Coast Section Officers

CDR Daniel Radocaj, USN (M), Chairman LCDR Jamie Struck, USN (M), Vice Chairman CDR Joshua Filbey, USN (M), Secretary Rusty Lowry (M), Treasurer

Symposium Chairman

CDR Daniel Radocaj, USN (M)

The Society of Experimental Test Pilots
P.O. Box 986

Lancaster, CA 93584
1.661.942.9574

Email: setp@setp.org
Web: www.setp.org

THE SOCIETY OF EXPERIMENTAL TEST PILOTS



35th EAST COAST SYMPOSIUM 5 APRIL 2019

Bay District Volunteer Fire Department Company 3 Social Hall

WELCOME

It is my pleasure to welcome all members and guests to the 35th East Coast Symposium of The Society of Experimental Test Pilots. Technical presentations and a luncheon have been planned for your enrichment and enjoyment.

CDR Daniel Radocaj, USN (M) Symposium Chairman