Continental Breakfast
0700 ~ Keen Kutter A Room

**TECHNICAL SESSIONS** 

Keen Kutter B Room 0800 ~ WELCOME

Stuart Rogerson (M), Cessna Symposium Chairman

0815-0850

The Little Strake that Could Balancing Asymmetric Aero Mods on
a Special Missions Regional Jet

Marc Mannella (AF), Bombardier Carlos Blacklock Jr.., Bombardier Steve Dunkle (M), NGES

0850-0925

Envelope Expansion Dives: Refining Build-up Techniques

Aaron Tobias (M), Cessna Maurice Girard (AF), Cessna

0925-1000 COFFEE BREAK

1000-1035

Introducing Vz: Best Efficiency of Climb Speed for Small Airplanes

Norman Howell (AF), Boeing

1035-1110

Alternate Method of Characterizing
Static Error Corrections

Terry LeSage (M), Cirrus Design Corp.

**SETP LUNCHEON ~ 1115-1245** 

Keynote Speaker ~

David Coleal - Spirit AeroSystems

1245-1320

KC-767A and C-130J Probe and Drogue Compatibility Testing -How We Made It Work

Jon Latall, The Boeing Company Wes Sawhill, The Boeing Company

1320-1355

First Article Test of a Complex Fighter Aircraft

Dr.. Lionel Alford (M), Hawker Beechcraft

1355-1425 COFFEE BREAK

1425-1500

Twenty Five Years in Flight Test Lessons Learned Will Gibbons (AM), Cessna

1500-1515 **State of the Society** 

Doug Benjamin (F), The Boeing Company

1515

Remarks and Presentation of the Lloyd C. Stearman Award

Social Hour ~ Atrium at the Hotel at Old Town immediately following the conclusion of the technical session.

The Society would like to thank the following companies for their support of the Central Section Symposium.





## **CORPORATE MEMBERS**

Advanced Training Systems International, Inc. Aerospace Services International LLC AeroTec Air Force Test Pilot School (India) Airbus SAS ALCAT, Inc. Alenia Aeronautica S.p.A. Aviation Partners, Inc. Bell Helicopter - A Textron Company Butler Parachute Systems, Inc. Calspan Corporation Carter Aviation Technologies Cessna Aircraft Company Clay Lacy Aviation CMC Electronics- Aurora David Clark Company Incorporated DCS Corporation EADS Deutschland GmbH **ETPS** eXAQT Consultant Group Flight Research Inc. Flight Test Associates Inc. Flight Test Centre of Excellence, Inc. ForeFeathers Enterprises GE Aviation General Atomics Aeronautical Systems, Inc. Gentex Corporation Gladstone Aerospace Corporation Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation HDT Airborne Systems Honda Aircraft Company Honeywell Aerospace Flight Test Operations JT3, LLC Krings Corporation Lockheed Martin Martin-Baker Aircraft Company Ltd. MIT Lincoln Laboratory Modern Technology Solutions, Inc. Mojave Air and Space Port National Aerospace Laboratory NLR National Test Pilot School Northrop Grumman Corporation Raisbeck Engineering, Inc. Saab Aerosystems Safe Flight Instrument Corporation Scaled Composites, LLC Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation Sunshine Aero Industries, Inc. Symbolic Displays, Incorporated Test Flying Academy of South Africa (TFASA) The Boeing Company The Johns Hopkins Univ. Applied Physics Laboratory Thornton Corporation

Tiger Century Aircraft, Inc.

Universal Avionics Systems Corp.

Wyle XCOR Aerospace

### THE SOCIETY OF EXPERIMENTAL TEST PILOTS

#### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

President - Steve Rainey, The Boeing Company

Vice President - Kevin Prosser, Calspan

Secretary - Mark Stucky, Scaled Composites

Treasurer - Brett Vance, USAF Test Pilot School

Legal Officer - Mike Wallace, The Boeing Company

Executive Advisor - William Flynn, Lockheed Martin

President-Elect - Douglas A. Benjamin, The Boeing Company

Technical Advisor - Patrick Duffy

Technical Advisor - Nils Larson, NASA

Canadian Section Representative - Jason Randall, Transport Canada

Central Section Representative - Mark Schlegel, Bombardier Aerospace

East Coast Section Representative - John Tougas, The Boeing Company

European Section Representative - Jeremy Tracy, AgustaWestland

Great Lakes Section Representative - G.K. Robinson, Textron

Northwest Section Representative - Ed Kolano, FAA

Southeast Section Representative - Adam MacDonald, Lt Col, USAF

Southwest Section Representative - Bob Moreau, Federal Express

West Coast Section Representative - Todd Ericson, Lt Col, USAF

# Central Section Officers

Dan Hinson (M), Chairman Don Parker (M), Vice Chairman Scott Whitley (M), Secretary Jeff Karnes (AF), Treasurer

The Society of Experimental Test Pilots
P.O. Box 986

Lancaster, CA 93584
1-661-942-9574

Email: setp@setp.org
Web: www.setp.org

## THE SOCIETY OF



# **EXPERIMENTAL TEST PILOTS**

# CENTRAL SECTION SYMPOSIUM 1 June 2012



Old Town Conference Center Wichita, Kansas

# **WELCOME**

It is my pleasure to welcome all members and guests to the Central Section Symposium of The Society of Experimental Test Pilots.

> Stuart Rogerson Symposium Chairman